ATAC Formal Response to the Emerson Report

On February 25, 2016, the Honourable Marc Garneau, Minister of Transport, tabled the Canada Transportation Act (CTA) Review Report in Parliament. The Review undertook a broad examination of the national transportation system and identified potential actions to enhance the system’s ability to support Canada’s international competitiveness, trade, and prosperity.

The Report, entitled Pathways: Connecting Canada’s Transportation System to the World, represents 18 months of analysis including: over 340 stakeholder consultations across Canada and international travel to research and analyze models and best practices; over 200 stakeholder submissions; and over 30 Review Secretariat commissioned studies.

Following its publication and thorough examination of its recommendations, ATAC has developed a formal response to the Report. Follow the link for the full document.

ATAC Formal Response to the Emerson Report.

ATAC Congratulates Wing Magazine’s Top 20 Under 40

Wings Magazine has identified this year’s Top 20 Under 40. This Wings program recognizes the achievements of the newest generation of aviation and aerospace professionals who are driving the aviation and aerospace industries forward. From pilots to maintenance engineers, supervisors, flight operation managers and more, these talented professionals represent the best and brightest in our industry. 

ATAC congratulates the following member company employees who were named in the Top 20 Under 40:

  • Shawn Braiden, Acting PRM, Aeroflight International Services/Harbour Air
  • Warren Gosselin, Director. Technical Operations Revenue Services, NAV CANADA
  • Dusty Miller, Westwind Captain and Deputy Flight Safety Officer, Discovery Air Defence
  • Chrissy Perry, Chief Flying Instructor, KF Aerospace Defence Services
  • Stephanie Robinson, B1900D Captain, Air Georgian
  • Bert Van Der Stege, Vice President, Commercial, First Air

ATAC also applauds all other 2016 Wings Magazine Top 20 Under 40 winners.

  • Denis Bourgouin, Director of Maintenance, Fast Air
  • Sean Davies, Co-owner/Operator, Maintair Aviation
  • Gary Dew, Hardware Engineer, Aversan Inc.
  • Jesse Goranson, Manager, Marketing and Strategy, Heli-One
  • Milena Kohanenko, Aviation Compliance Manager, Ledcor
  • Jocelyn Lebell, Director of Corporate Services, Hawkair
  • Micheal Nault, Program Director, Light Helicopters, Bell Helicopter Textron Canada
  • Natalie Panek, Mission Systems Engineer, MDA Robotics and Automation Division
  • Erik Polzin, Founder/CEO, Sitka Aviation
  • Jeff Roberts, Avonics/Electrical Systems Designer, AME, Avmax
  • Graham Snell, General Manager, Saskatoon/Regina Aerocentres and Lancaster Aviation Fuels
  • Mark Steinbeck, President, Traxxall Technologies
  • Gabriel Zellbeck, Assistant Chief Pilot, L R Helicopters

ATAC Holds a Special Meeting of Members

ATAC is happy to announce that a Special Meeting of Members was held on Tuesday, June 28, to submit changes to our By-Laws in reference to the length of the terms of Industry Partner nominees on the ATAC Board.

Currently, persons nominated by Industry Partners for appointment to the ATAC Board of Directors are limited to a one-year term, as stipulated by the Canada Not-For-Profit Act. The ATAC Board of Directors recommended that Industry Partner nominees be elected to the Board rather than appointed, which would permit them to serve for three years.

Industry Partner nominees would be listed on the slate, along with Member nominees, to be voted on by the Members at the Annual Meeting. The mandates of the two nominees elected to the Board at the 2016 Annual Meeting would be staggered so that their terms don’t end on the same year.

The approved By-Law changes will be formally acted upon at this year’s Annual Meeting. The terms of the current Industry Partners appointed to the Board last year will end this November and both Directors would be eligible to run again.

The nomination process for all Board nominees will begin in August.


AIR CADET Banner for ATAC web


Wings Enews banner