2014 Annual General Meeting & Tradeshow


~ The premier national gathering for operators, suppliers to the industry
and government stakeholders involved in commercial aviation
and flight training in Canada ~

ATAC is pleased to report a very successful AGM and Tradeshow in Vancouver with close to 500 delegates in attendance. We would like to extend a special thanks to all our Members, Sponsors and Exhibitors whose participation contributed greatly to the success of our conference.

Kathy Fox, Chair of the Transport Safety Board, was our luncheon keynote speaker. Also well attended was the session with Transport Canada's Director General, Civil Aviation, Martin Eley.

Mark your calendar now for next year

ATAC Annual General Meeting & Tradeshow

Monday, Nov. 2 - Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2015

Queen Elizabeth Hotel, Montreal, QC



The new ATAC Board of Directors for 2014-2015 consists of 25 members. See Board of Directors page for details.


All available presentations are posted to the "Members Only" section of the website. To access it, you must be a member and have a valid log-in and password. If you experience any difficulties with your member login, please contact This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .


We would like to congratulate the winners of the following prizes:

  • Sunwing Vacation: Tim Raphael (Blue Sky Booking)
  • Hamilton Watch (men): Don Hrabec (Acorn Welding)
  • Hamilton Watch (women): Charlie Nelson (Waterloo Wellington Flight Centre)

AWARDS - Congratulations to the following award winners:

ATAC Honoree Award - The 2014 recipient is Bruce MacDougall. This is the Association's most cherished recognition achievement awarded to individuals who during their lifetime have contributed significantly to the improvement of the Association and the Canadian air transport industry as a whole.

ATAC Honour Roll Award – The 2014 recipient is William (Bill) James. This is ATAC’s Achievement Award to honour people who have made exceptional contributions to our industry. Bill James is recognized for his involvement in the development of the Canadian Government’s Third Party War Risk Liability Indemnity. His efforts have resulted in significant financial benefits of more than $100 million in savings for the entire industry since 2001.

The Paul Mulroney Memorial Award of Excellence – The 2014 recipient is Chad Wetsch of Harbour Air. This award is given annually to an employee of an operator member company who has demonstrated progressive advancement to and within management positions.

Webster Memorial Trophy Award - Top Amateur Pilot of the Year - The 2014 recipient is Sebastien Leduc of Seneca College and the runner up is Andrew Bryson from Harv’s Air. The Webster Memorial Trophy Competition is an annual event intended to declare the "top amateur pilot in Canada".

The David Charles Abramson Memorial Flight Instructor Safety Award - The 2014 recipient is Sherry Cooper of Sky Wings Aviation. This award is presented annually to the top flight instructor.

The 2014 DCAM Legacy Award – The legacy award was given to Keith (KO) Ostertag, flight instructor Chinook helicopters, Abbotsford, BC.

Hope Air Outstanding Philanthropist Award - The award went to Porter Airlines Inc. This award recognizes philanthropic leadership by an ATAC member who has shown dedication to Hope Air's mission of removing the barriers of distance and cost that separate Canadians from the specialized healthcare they require.

Some AGM pictures are available for viewing on My Album. If you are ware of pictures not posted that you would like to have for yourself, please contact us and we will do our best to get them to you.

2014 Sponsors

Page 3 of 3