2012 Annual General Meeting & Tradeshow

2012 Annual General Meeting and Tradeshow


Tuesday, November 13 to Thursday November 15, 2012
Westin Bayshore Hotel
Vancouver, BC


~ The premier national gathering for operators, suppliers to the industry and government stakeholders involved in commercial aviation and flight training in Canada ~~


ATAC is pleased to report a very successful AGM and Tradeshow in Vancouver with approximately 400 delegates in attendance. We would like to extend a special thanks to all our Sponsors and Exhibitors whose participation contributed greatly to the success of our conference.


Our Plenary Session on November 14 entitled "The Need for a New National Aviation Policy” was very well received. The panelists provided their perspectives on the topic. Their presentations are as follows:

The Luncheon with keynote speaker Tony Gugliotta, Senior Vice President, Marketing and Business Development, Vancouver Airport Authority was also well attended, as well as the session with Transport Canada's Director General Civil Aviation, Martin Eley.


Mark your calendar now for next year's
ATAC Annual General Meeting & Tradeshow
Sunday, Nov. 17 - Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2013
Fairmont Queen Elizabeth Hotel, Montreal, QC


All available presentations are posted to the "Members Only" section of the website. To access it, you must be a member and have a valid log-in and password.


AWARDS - Congratulations to the following award winners:


ATAC Honorary Life Membership Award - The 2012 recipient is Patricia Kennedy from Pacific Flying Club. This is the Association's highest achievement awarded to individuals who during their lifetime have contributed significantly to the improvement of the Association and the Canadian air transport industry as a whole.


The Paul Mulrooney Memorial Award of Excellence - This year's recipient is Chris Walsh from Moncton Flight College. This ATAC award is given annually to an employee of an operator member company who has demonstrated progressive advancement to and within management positions.


The David Charles Abramson Memorial Flight Instructor Safety Award - The 2012 recipient is Paul Harris from Pacific Flying Club. This award is presented annually to the top flight instructor.


Webster Memorial Trophy Award - Top Amateur Pilot of the Year - The 2012 recipient is Andrew Woods from Confederation College and the runner-up is Andrew Burns from Coastal Pacific Aviation. The Webster Memorial Trophy Competition is an annual event intended to declare the "top amateur pilot in Canada".


Hope Air Outstanding Philanthropist Award - The award went to Central Mountain Air. This award is to recognize philanthropic leadership by an ATAC member who has shown dedication to Hope Air's mission of removing the barriers of distance and cost that separate Canadians from the specialized healthcare they require.

New ATAC Board of Directors

The new Board of Directors for 2012-2013 consist of 16 members.  See Board of Directors page of details.