2013 Annual General Meeting & Tradeshow

AGM banner-2013

~ The premier national gathering for operators, suppliers to the industry
and government stakeholders involved in commercial aviation
and flight training in Canada ~


ATAC is pleased to report a very successful AGM and Tradeshow in Montreal with over 450 delegates in attendance. We would like to extend a special thanks to all our Members, Sponsors and Exhibitors whose participation contributed greatly to the success of our conference.


The Honourable Lisa Raitt, Minister of Transport, was our luncheon keynote speaker. Also well attended was the session with Transport Canada's Director General, Civil Aviation, Martin Eley.


Mark your calendar now for next year

ATAC Annual General Meeting & Tradeshow

Monday, Nov. 17 - Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2014

Westin Bayshore Hotel, Vancouver, BC


All available presentations are posted to the "Member Only" section of the website. To access it, you must be a member and have a valid log-in and password. If you experience any difficulties with your member login, please contact This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .



We would like to congratulate the winners of the following prizes:

  • Sunwing Vacation: Quentin Smith, Pacific Coastal Airlines
  • Hamilton Watch (men): Charles Shaw, Ottawa Flying Club
  • Hamilton Watch (women): Elaine Fenner, Seneca College


Congratulations to the following award winners:


ATAC Honoree Award - The 2013 recipient is Robert Deluce of Porter Airlines. This is the Association's highest achievement awarded to individuals who during their lifetime have contributed significantly to the improvement of the Association and the Canadian air transport industry as a whole.


The Jim Glass Humanitarian Award – This is the very first time this award is given. This award will be given every second year to a member of the Canadian aviation community who has demonstrated selfless generosity, compassion, business acumen and who best exemplify Jim's values through community involvement. The 2013 recipients are Harvey and Cliff Friesen of Bearskin Airlines.


The David Charles Abramson Memorial Flight Instructor Safety Award - The 2013 recipient is Chris Walsh of Moncton Flight College. This award is presented annually to the top flight instructor.


Webster Memorial Trophy Award - Top Amateur Pilot of the Year - The 2013 recipient is Takaski Hirose of Ottawa Flying Club/Algonquin College and the runner-up is Stuart Loney of Brampton Flight Centre. The Webster Memorial Trophy Competition is an annual event intended to declare the "top amateur pilot in Canada".


Hope Air Outstanding Philanthropist Award - The award went to Quentin Smith of Pacific Coastal Airlines. This award recognizes philanthropic leadership by an ATAC member who has shown dedication to Hope Air's mission of removing the barriers of distance and cost that separate Canadians from the specialized healthcare they require.



The new ATAC Board of Directors for 2013-2014 consists of 26 members. See Board of Directors page for details.


AGM pictures will soon be made available
2013 Sponsors